PTSD Veterans’ Project: A Chance to Tell Your Story

It’s always encouraging to get a response or comment or even a “like” for one of my blog posts. What’s even more gratifying is when people share their stories and then expand on the idea with resources. Here’s a great example:

The PTSD Project

Vivian of the  PTSD Veterans’ Project read my Friday blog entry and posted this response on the Off the Base Facebook page:

Thank you for sharing this – I have shared this with our community also. Our Project aims to change the national conversation on Post-Traumatic Stress by sharing first-person accounts of hope and victory over PTSD with those who need to hear them the most – other Veterans and their families.

My Father’s War

This week’s blog entry for the PTSD Veterans’ Project was written by Leila Levinson, founder of the online community veteranschildren.com and author of the award-winning book, Gated Grief. I’ve communicated with Leila and planned a future interview about her book that shares accounts from WWII liberators, their families and post-traumatic stress disorder.

Photo courtesy of PTSD Veterans' Project

Here’s a portion of Leila’s story written for the PTSD Veterans’ Project:

Until I was five, I knew the silence of a mother who sat at the kitchen table smoking endless cigarettes and drinking bottomless glasses of wine. Then, one day while she and I were shopping, policemen appeared and arrested her for shoplifting. On the way to the station, my mother clutched my arm and pleaded, “Don’t leave me. If you let them take you, I’ll never see you again.” At the station they did take me from her. And I never saw her again.

Silence became my family’s language as well as its atmosphere.

You can read Leila’s full blog entry HERE.

How to Share Your Story

The goal is to change the public’s conversation and perception of PTSD by sharing stories from families. If you would like to share your experience with the PTSD Veterans’ Project:

As Leila’s story shows, this chance to tell your story is open to all – Veterans, spouses, parents, sisters, brothers, aunts, uncles, children, cousins, and friends. The goal is a genuine and open dialogue to better understand how PTSD impacts each and everyone living with the symptoms.

Leave a Reply

