Marie Tillman Shares Her “Just in Case” Letter

Marie and Pat Tillman – an undated family photo. Photo courtesy of Marie Tillman.

My thanks to for her lovely post on Spouse Buzz explaining the “Just in Case” letter that many military members write prior to deploying.

The blog post highlights the “Just in Case” letter that Marie Tillman shared in her new book, The Letter: My Journey Through Love, Loss, & Life:

  • Just in case I don’t come back I want the money used to put the boys through college.
  • Just in case I don’t come back I want you to know that I was fighting for my country: my country is you and our babies and my mom and my sisters.
  • Just in case I don’t come back I want you to know that you were everything a wife was supposed to be. That you made my life happy. That even though we didn’t have 50 years together, the five we did have were the fullest, richest years anyone could ever want.
Marie shares in her book that her “Just in Case” letter from Pat Tillman is what has brought her the most comfort since his death. It takes bravery to write such a letter, but Marie Tillman offers some help. On her website www.justincaseletter.com she provides tips about how to write that kind of letter.

2 Responses

  1. when i was deployed to afghanistan in 2003, oef, we did not do jus in case letter. not sure why we did not. yes it does take bravery and courage. thanks for sharing.

  2. […] a previous Off the Base blog post, I shared a portion of Tillman’s “Just In Case Letter” he left his wife, Marie […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.