Military Family Matters: A Thank You Letter to the Troops

Soldiers of the 1st Brigade Combat Team, 34th Infantry Division bow their heads and say a prayer of thanks, during their Thanksgiving meal Nov. 23, 2006 in Iraq. CREDITS: Maj. Mike Lins. Photo courtesy of the Minnesota National Guard.

Here’s a lovely sentiment – an open letter – published Wednesday, Nov. 23, 2011, by Elaine Sanchez for the Family Matters Blog:

Dear deployed service member:

Last night, I packed my suitcase for a trip to see my family. The last time you packed your bags, it was for a yearlong trip away from yours.

We’ll soon crowd into our car and head to my parents’ house at the shore. You’ll step into a Humvee and convoy through a combat zone.

Tomorrow I’ll sit down for a Thanksgiving feast at a table surrounded by my loved ones. You’ll join your battle buddies in a dining facility.

At night, I’ll lay my son down in his bed for the night. You’ll lay down your rifle to catch some sleep in between missions.

I’ll check on my children one last time before I head to bed. You’ll blow a kiss to yours through a computer screen.

This Thanksgiving, I’m thankful for your service. For being among the 1 percent of Americans willing to part from your family for up to a year and put yourself in harm’s way for me and my family.

Even though you’re thousands of miles away, rest assured your sacrifices don’t go unnoticed. It’s my family’s tradition to say what we’re thankful for at our holiday dinner. This year, I’ll be sure to say how thankful I am for you.

If you would like to express your thanks directly to deployed military, the Red Cross is sponsoring a  program for a fifth year.

For the fifth year, the Red Cross has partnered with Pitney Bowes, a mail-stream technology company, to collect and distribute holiday cards to service members, veterans and their families around the world. This program offers a great way to show your appreciation for their sacrifices and to deliver some holiday cheer.

If you would like to write a direct letter or send a card to deployed military and wounded warriors, the Red Cross has the Holiday Mail for Heroes program. You can mail your cards to:

Holiday Mail For Heroes
P.O. Box 5456
Capitol Heights, MD 20791-5456

Cards should be signed and postmarked by Dec. 9, 2011. You can find all the details including the card guidelines HERE.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.