Marine Mom First Deployment Ends & Other Homecomings

April and son Jared shortly after his completion of boot camp.

The Marine son of my colleague and friend, April Agle,  is beginning his journey home from his first deployment to Afghanistan. We’ll share news of his homecoming when it happens.

But, for those who need a piece of good news now – there’s the  website, Welcome Home. I introduced it on the blog about a year ago. It shares daily, heartwarming videos and stories from military families with many surprise homecomings. Here’s the most recent entry:

“After being gone for months performing route clearance missions in Afghanistan, I came home to surprise my Fiancée’, Katie, while she was having lunch at the Student Union on campus at Mississippi State University. My sister and brother-in-law were recording the video, and some friends at Event Services helped play our song, “God Gave me You,” over the speaker system in the food court. It is also the song I proposed to. She had no idea I was coming!”

-John G.

2 Responses

  1. Glad Jared is on the way home!

  2. […] Marine Mom First Deployment Ends & Other Homecomings (offthebase.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.