Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel

The cadet leaders of The Citadel at a the Corps Day parade.

The Citadel is a “Leadership College.” I wasn’t sure what that meant until well into my son’s first year.  I went to a liberal arts university and the whole military college experience was foreign to me.  As I mentioned in my first entry, The Making of a Military Mom, when I don’t understand something I read about it and learn as much as I can to help take away the mystery so it ideally becomes less scary.

Senior Cadet Nelson Lalli leads the Bravo Company cadre into the barracks to meet the new cadet recruits.

During his first year, if I dared to question why something was done a certain way my son would reply, “Everything has a reason,” then he’d rattle off a list of things they do and the reason behind it.  Many of the tasks are designed to help them with skills they will need later in their careers. Memorizing certain facts and being able to report them at a moments notice in a military situation can be very important.

Between reading and talking with the parent volunteers with the Citadel Family Association, I started to gain insights into the leadership training model used at The Military College of South Carolina.

Another helpful experience was attending the Ethics Seminar my son attended Sunday mornings instead of chapel.  All first year cadets, or knobs as they are called, attended a religious service of their choice or they could attend the Ethics Seminar.  Our family belongs to a Presbyterian Church, and I am a seminary graduate. My son decided that first year at The Citadel that the Ethics Seminar was his choice.

On Parent’s Weekend that first year, when everyone was attending chapel or religious services with their son/daughter, I attended the Ethics Seminar with my son.  A retired Marine officer led the discussion that morning.  They discussed events of the past week. The cadets were asked to give examples of a situation with an upper class cadet officer and why they thought it was a good or poor example of leadership.  I was impressed with the level of thoughtful discussion and engagement the cadets had in the discussion.

Bravo Company cadre and the new cadet recruits march to their first meal in the Mess Hall.

When second semester started I began to learn about the cadet leadership model and how they go about becoming cadet officers.  The book “Sword Drill” by David Epps was very helpful for me understanding the thought process a cadet goes through when challenging themselves to reach for a position in the chain of command.

A real understanding hit me at the end of that first year.  My daughter and I went for a weekend visit.  We took my son and a friend out for brunch.  Toward the end of the meal my son and his friend began to discuss their week ahead.  They talked about the rank board meeting, the meeting where they are asked why they want to be a certain rank, their schedules, and how they had to proceed.  As I listened to their conversation it hit me.  These two college freshman were discussing their schedules like two young business men.  They weren’t talking about parties, or what class they would skip, but rather when the review board was rumored to be and what they had to do to prepare.

In the years after that first year, I’ve observed each new class go through the process of growing up and taking responsibility for their path at The Citadel. Not everyone wants to rise through the ranks. Some are senior privates.

The cadet leadership of Bravo Company signing up a new cadet on Matriculation Day.

Most cadets, even the ones who do not have rank, take on some type of leadership role during their time as cadets. They may be athletes,  involved with an academic or professional society, participate in an ROTC activity or other campus activites.

The graduates of The Citadel leave the school prepared to take on life’s challenges. As stated on the Leadership & Ethics section of their web site, “Graduates of The Citadel succeed because they know what it takes to meet a challenge in any field: “patience and persistence, discipline and determination, teamwork and hard work.”

Dorie Griggs has contributed previous blog entries about her journey as the mother of a Citadel cadet. You can read her previous submissions:

The Making of a Military Mom

Mom Readies for Son’s Military College

The Citadel: Year One a No Fly Zone for Hovering Parents

 How the Citadel Ya-Yas Came to be

30 Responses

  1. “Sword Drill” is the best of the books for potential Citadel parents. “In the Company of Men” is #2.

  2. Get post Dorie! I attended Appalachian State-we “granolas” up there may be as far removed from a military college as can be!!! But like you, I educated myself and the further my son go into his first year the more impressed I was. He is a junior now and I am already trying to come to terms with this next year being his last.

  3. That was supposed to be Great post Dorie! That’s what I get for trying to comment on things before Monday morning coffee!!!

  4. […] Posts "Will You Ever be a Normal Family?"An Army Wife Thing: Giving Birth Over the PhoneLearning Leadership and Ethics at The CitadelAboutContributorsCol. Schenecker: "Our Journey to Healing"Mom Readies for Son's Military CollegeThe […]

  5. […] Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel […]

  6. […] Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel […]

  7. […] Top Posts Capt. Honors "Held to a Higher Standard"A Salute to Black Veterans, SaturdayThe Citadel: BVA's and Summerall GuardsDistance Makes the Heart Grow FonderDid Your Family Drink Camp Lejeune's Water?"My Daddy Come Home"The Day I Saw My Future Husband CryThe Citadel: Recognition Day and Ring WeekendWhat I wish I had known about military retirementLearning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel […]

  8. […] Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel […]

  9. […] Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel […]

  10. […] Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel […]

  11. […] Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel […]

  12. […] put together  for Matriculation Day. The key for parents to remember about The Citadel is it is a leadership school. That means your high school graduate is treated as the adult they are. You raised them and now […]

  13. […] is the first test your future cadet will go through. To be prepared for entering this leadership school your cadet should take charge of all the information on the Matriculation Headquarters page. They […]

  14. […] The Citadel is a Leadership School. Your cadet will go through a tough process and you will be amazed at how he or she will grow as an […]

  15. […] will get a great college education, but they will learn to take charge of their actions. It is a leadership school. One of the hardest thing for the families to learn is that once you drop a cadet off at the school […]

  16. […] Remember this is a Leadership School. Once you leave campus your cadet recruit is expected to take responsibility for their success and […]

  17. […] I learned early on that at this military school most policies are documented and easily found on the web site. All the training modules are posted on the Office of the Commandants page if you really want to get an understanding of what is taught at this Leadership school. […]

  18. […] you are a new parent there is one bit of advice I’d like you to hear. The Citadel is a leadership school. Your student will learn to take control of their experience there. It is important for you to […]

  19. […] early journey. The following entries, The Citadel: Year One a No Fly Zone for Hovering Parents and Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel, describe in part the transformation I went through as I saw the changes in my son from a young […]

  20. […] Citadel is a Leadership school. That means now that your knob has reported it is up to them to navigate the system. parents should […]

  21. […] careful though. The cadets are students at a military college. The 4th Class System is designed to train the students to become leaders, which means learning to solve problems on their […]

  22. […] Citadel is a military school and a leadership school. That means that the cadets are expected to learn to advocate for themselves. In this environment […]

  23. […] The toughest part of knob year for many parents is the transition you must make. The Citadel is a leadership school. Your student will need to navigate the 4th class system on their own. Parents move to a support […]

  24. […] I mentioned in the blog post, Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel, the process helps these young men and women learn how to take ownership for their actions. You can […]

  25. […] I pointed out in the blog entry, Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel, the essence of being a leadership school is empowering students to take control of their […]

  26. […] if you are not familiar with the military. I learned early in the process that The Citadel is a Leadership College. That means the students are expected to take responsibility for their actions/in […]

  27. […] to parents. Your student will be attending a leadership school. I’ve written previously about what I learned about what that means. The hardest, but most regarding lesson for parents of cadets is this, your student will have to be […]

  28. […] I mentioned in an early blog post, Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel, the cadets, especially the ones interested in holding rank, must learn to use their time wisely. […]

  29. […] Learning Leadership and Ethics at The Citadel […]

  30. […] Citadel is a leadership school. The students attend this school because they expect to be challenged. They know, or should know, […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.